• LESS

    01

    Author: Greer Andrew Sean

    Brand: Hachette India

    Features:

    • Ideal for Gifting
    • Must try for a book lover
    • Comes with Proper Binding

    Package Dimensions: 19x197x190

    Number Of Pages: 272

    Release Date: 15-06-2018

    Details: Product Description
    WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 ‘You will sob little tears of joy’ Nell Zink’I recommend it with my whole heart’ Ann Patchett’This book is basically perfect’ Dolly Alderton’Charming, languid and incredibly funny, I absolutely adored Arthur’ Jenny Colgan ‘Marvellously, endearingly, unexpectedly funny’ Gary Shteyngart’I adore this book’ Armistead Maupin’Bedazzling, bewitching and be-wonderful’ New York Times Book Review’A fast and rocketing read . . . a wonderful, wonderful book!’ Karen Joy Fowler’Hilarious, and wise, and abundantly funny’ Adam HaslettWHO SAYS YOU CAN’T RUN AWAY FROM YOUR PROBLEMS? Arthur Less is a failed novelist about to turn fifty. A wedding invitation arrives in the post: it is from an ex-boyfriend of nine years who is engaged to someone else. Arthur can’t say yes – it would be too awkward; he can’t say no – it would look like defeat. So, he begins to accept the invitations on his desk to half-baked literary events around the world. From France to India, Germany to Japan, Arthur almost falls in love, almost falls to his death, and puts miles between him and the plight he refuses to face. Less is a novel about mishaps, misunderstandings and the depths of the human heart.
    Review
    I adore this book — Armistead Maupin

    Greer is
    one of the most talented writers around — Michael Chabon

    A really smart, funny book that pulls you up instead of down . . .
    It’s hysterical, and the writing is fantastic — Ann Patchett

    The most deftly funny romantic comedy I’ve read in years. If you have a sentimental bone in your body (I have 206),the ending will make you sob little tears of joy — Nell Zink

    Marvelously, unexpectedly, endearingly funny. A love story focused on the erroneous belief that the second half of life will pale in comparison to the first. Guess what? It won’t! — Gary Shteyngart

    Less is the funniest, smartest, and most humane novel I’ve read since
    The Imperfectionists . . . Greer writes sentences of arresting lyricism and beauty. His metaphors come at you like fireflies . . . Like Arthur, Andrew Sean Greer’s
    Less is excellent company.
    It’s no less than bedazzling, bewitching and be-wonderful — Christopher Buckley ―
    New York Times Book Review

    A generous book, musical in its prose and expansive in its structure and range, about growing older and the essential nature of love — Judges of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2018

    I am re-reading
    Less by Andrew Sean Greer. It is
    a hilarious, heart-warming story about an imperfect, optimistic and utterly loveable protagonist Arthur Less, stumbling towards a milestone of middle-age on a geographical and personal odyssey while reflecting on his life so far. It is my idea of
    perfect comfort reading –
    heroically hopeful, laugh-out-loud funny and overflowing with love — Dolly Alderton ―
    Waterstones.com

    A fast and rocketing read with everything I want from a story – moments of high humor, moments of genuine wisdom, sharp insights, and gorgeous images.
    A wonderful, wonderful book!

    Greer is an exceptionally lovely writer, capable of mingling humor with sharp poignancy . . . Brilliantly funny . . . Greer’s narration, so elegantly laced with wit, cradles the story of a man who loses everything: his lover, his suitcase, his beard, his dignity ―
    Washington Post

    Less is philosophical, poignant, funny and wise, filled with unexpected turns . . . Although Greer is gifted and subtle in comic moments, he’s just as adept at ruminating on the deeper stuff. His protagonist grapples with aging,loneliness, creativity, grief, self-pity and more ―
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Greer elevates
    Less’ picaresque journey into a wise and witty novel.
    This is no Eat, Pray Love story of touristic uplift, but rather a grand travelogue of foibles, humiliations and self-deprecation, ending in joy, and a dollop of self-knowledge ―
    National Book Review

    Greer, the author of wonderful, heartfelt novels including
    The Confessions of Max Tivoli,
    The

    164.00509.00

    LESS

    164.00509.00
  • Moby-Dick

    01

    Author: Melville Herman

    Brand: Harper Collins India

    Edition: New

    Features:

    • Dover Publications

    Package Dimensions: 28x203x320

    Number Of Pages: 464

    Release Date: 29-08-2003

    Details: Product Description

    A masterpiece of storytelling, this epic saga pits Ahab, a brooding and fantastical sea captain, against the great white whale that crippled him. In telling the tale of Ahab’s passion for revenge and the fateful voyage that ensued, Melville produced far more than the narrative of a hair-raising journey; Moby-Dick is a tale for the ages that sounds the deepest depths of the human soul. Interspersed with graphic sketches of life aboard a whaling vessel, and a wealth of information on whales and 19th-century whaling, Melville’s greatest work presents an imaginative and thrilling picture of life at sea, as well as a portrait of heroic determination. The author’s keen powers of observation and firsthand knowledge of shipboard life (he served aboard a whaler himself) were key ingredients in crafting a maritime story that dramatically examines the conflict between man and nature. “A valuable addition to the literature of the day,” said American journalist Horace Greeley on the publication of Moby-Dick in 1851 &; a classic piece of understatement about a literary classic now considered by many as “the great American novel.” Read and pondered by generations, the novel remains an unsurpassed account of the ultimate human struggle against the indifference of nature and the awful power of fate. Much of Moby Dick was inspired by the 1821 work Narratives of the Wreck of the Whale-Ship Essex, which in turn inspired the 2015 movie In the Heart of the Sea
    , directed by Ron Howard and starring Chris Hemsworth.

    From the Back Cover

    A masterpiece of storytelling, this epic saga pits Ahab, a brooding and fantastical sea captain, against the great white whale that crippled him. In telling the tale of Ahab’s passion for revenge and the fateful voyage that ensued, Melville produced far more than the narrative of a hair-raising journey; Moby-Dick is a tale for the ages that sounds the deepest depths of the human soul.
    Interspersed with graphic sketches of life aboard a whaling vessel, and a wealth of information on whales and 19th-century whaling, Melville’s greatest work presents an imaginative and thrilling picture of life at sea, as well as a portrait of heroic determination. The author’s keen powers of observation and firsthand knowledge of shipboard life (he served aboard a whaler himself) were key ingredients in crafting a maritime story that dramatically examines the conflict between man and nature.

    About the Author

    Herman Melville (1819&;1891) found early success with stories inspired by his adventures in the South Seas. His fortunes declined with the 1851 publication of Moby-Dick, now recognized as a masterpiece but scorned by Melville’s contemporaries. The author was obliged to work as a New York City customs inspector and died in obscurity, three decades before the critical reassessment of his work.

    UPC: 800759432158

    304.00709.00

    Moby-Dick

    304.00709.00
  • Heartstopper Volume Three: The million-copy bestselling series coming soon to Netflix!

    01

    Author: Oseman Alice

    Brand: Hodder Children’s Books

    Package Dimensions: 32x233x500

    Number Of Pages: 384

    Release Date: 06-02-2020

    Details: Product Description
    *Soon to be a live-action Netflix series!* Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the third volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. *Includes exclusive Tao/Elle mini-comic!*’Absolutely delightful. Sweet, romantic, kind. Beautifully paced. I loved this book.’ RAINBOW ROWELL, author of Carry OnCharlie didn’t think Nick could ever like him back, but now they’re officially boyfriends. Nick’s even found the courage to come out to his mum. But coming out isn’t just something that happens once – there’s Nick’s older brother, and a school trip to Paris, not to mention all the other friends and family – and life can be hard, even with someone who loves you by your side. As their feelings get more serious, Charlie and Nick will need each other more than ever before. Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. ‘The queer graphic novel we wished we had at high school.’ Gay TimesThis is the third volume of Heartstopper, which is soon to be a live-action Netflix series.
    Review
    The gorgeous graphic novel series about the blossoming relationship between two teenage boys returns with a school trip to Paris on the horizon ―
    i newspaper

    Beautifully and thoughtfully realized, this series is romantic, heartfelt and ultimately joyful. ―
    The Bookseller
    Book Description
    *Soon to be a live-action Netflix series!* Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the third volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. *Includes exclusive Tao/Elle mini-comic!*
    About the Author
    Alice Oseman was born in 1994 in Kent. She secured her first publishing deal at 17 and has gone on to write three YA novels. She is now a full-time writer and illustrator. She can usually be found staring aimlessly at computer screens, questioning the meaninglessness of existence, or doing anything she can to avoid getting an office job.

    204.00709.00
  • 149.00499.00

    Golden Fox

    149.00499.00
  • 149.00499.00

    Friday Nights

    149.00499.00

Main Menu